Time Line Or The Civil War Essay

  • Просмотров 213
  • Скачиваний 5
  • Размер файла 15

Time Line Or The Civil War Essay, Research Paper December 18,1860 — The Crittenden Compromise January 1861 — The South Secedes. When Abraham Lincoln, a known opponent of slavery, was elected president, the South Carolina legislature perceived a threat. Calling a state convention, the delegates voted to remove the state of South Carolina from the union known as the United States of America. The Secession of South Carolina was followed by the secession of six more states — Mississippi, Florida, Alabama, Georgia, Louisiana, and Texas — and the threat of Secession by four more — Virginia, Arkansas, Tennessee, and North Carolina. These eleven states eventually formed the Confederate States of America. Ordinances of Secession January 7 – Speech of Tennessee Governor

Isham G. Harris January 9 – Mississippi seceded from the Union. January 10 – Florida seceded from the Union. January 11 Alabama seceded from the Union. Speech of E.S. Dargan January 19 Georgia seceded from the Union. January 26 Louisiana seceded from the Union. January 29 Kansas admitted to the Union. February 1 Texas seceded from the Union. February 1861– The South Creates a Government. At a convention in Montgomery, Alabama, the seven seceding states created the Confederate Constitution, a document similar to the United States Constitution, but with greater stress on the autonomy of each state. Jefferson Davis was named provisional president of the Confederacy until elections could be held. February 1861– The South Seizes Federal Forts. When President Buchanan —

Lincoln’s predecessor — refused to surrender southern federal forts to the seceding states, southern state troops seized them. At Fort Sumter, South Carolina troops repulsed a supply ship trying to reach federal forces based in the fort. The ship was forced to return to New York, its supplies undelivered. March 4 1861– Lincoln’s Inauguration. At Lincoln’s inauguration the new president said he had no plans to end slavery in those states where it already existed, but he also said he would not accept secession. He hoped to resolve the national crisis without warfare. March 9 – Address of George Williamson to the Texas Secession Convention March 11 1861– Confederate Constitution. April 1861 — Attack on Fort Sumter. When President Lincoln planned to send supplies to

Fort Sumter, he alerted the state in advance, in an attempt to avoid hostilities. South Carolina, however, feared a trick. On April 10, 1861, Brig. Gen. Beauregard, in command of the provisional Confederate forces at Charleston, South Carolina, demanded the surrender of the Union garrison of Fort Sumter in Charleston Harbor. The Garrison commander Anderson refused. On April 12, Confederate batteries opened fire on the fort, which was unable to reply effectively. At 2:30 p.m., April 13, Major Anderson surrendered Fort Sumter, evacuating the garrison on the following day. The bombardment of Fort Sumter was the opening engagement of the American Civil War. Although there were no casualties during the bombardment, one Union artillerist was killed and three wounded (one mortally) when

a cannon exploded prematurely when firing a salute during the evacuation. From 1863 to 1865, the Confederates at Fort Sumter withstood a 22 month siege by Union forces. During this time, most of the fort was reduced to brick rubble. Fort Sumter became a national monument in 1948. April 17 Virginia seceded from the Union. April 25 Second Message of Isham Harris to the Tennessee Assembly April 1861– Four More States Join the Confederacy. The attack on Fort Sumter prompted four more states to join the Confederacy. With Virginia’s secession, Richmond was named the Confederate capitol. May 6 Arkansas seceded from the Union. May 18-19, 1861 Sewell’s Point May 20 North Carolina seceded from the Union. May 29-June 1, 1861 Aquia Creek June 1861– West Virginia Is Born. Residents of