3 Branches Of Government Essay Research Paper

  • Просмотров 538
  • Скачиваний 30
  • Размер файла 14

3 Branches Of Government Essay, Research Paper There are three branches of the federal government, the executive, the judicial, and the legislative. The executive branch consists of such people as the president, the cabinet, and the executive offices of the president. The executive branch is known for enforcing laws created by the legislative branch. The judicial branch entails the United States Supreme Court and the Federal Judiciary. The judicial branch must review the laws the executive branch is to enforce. There is also the legislative branch. This branch contains the United States House of Representatives, the United States Senate, and the Library of Congress. Laws are created through the legislative branch. The basic idea between the creation of the three branches is

based upon “checks and balances.” No branch should become so powerful that it over-takes either of the other branches. This also brings out the point that neither one of these branches, nor any person holding office in one of them, can exercise power belonging to either of the others. The legislative branch creates the laws, the judicial branch reviews the law, and then the executive branch enforces the laws. All three branches are interrelated, each branch overlaps but serves separate purposes. The main powers of the executive branch rest with the President of the United States of America. Powers granted to him by the constitution include serving as commander in chief of the armed forces; negotiating treaties; appointing federal judges, ambassadors, and cabinet officials;

and acting as head of state. The president also has a cabinet which includes officials such as the attorney general and the secretaries of State, Treasury, Defense, Interior, Agriculture, Commerce, Labor, Health and Human Services, Housing and Urban Development, Transportation, Education, Energy, and Veterans Affairs. The president appoints the positions with the approval of the Senate. The powers of the judicial branch rest in the courts, which decide arguments about the meaning of laws, how they are applied, and whether they violate the Constitution. The latter power is known as judicial review and it is this process that the judiciary uses to provide checks and balances on the legislative and executive branches. However, judicial review is not an explicit power given to the

courts, but it is an implied power. The judicial branch is established in Article III of the Constitution. The judicial branch consists of nine justices, including a chief justice, appointed for life terms by the president with the consent of the Senate. The court also serves as a trial court in cases involving foreign ambassadors, ministers, and consuls, and in cases where a U.S. state is a party. The powers of the Congress are listed almost exclusively in the Constitution under Article I, Section 8 which state powers such as: the right to declare war, the right to establish a uniform Rule of Naturalization, and the right to regulate commerce with foreign nations. The Congress is also given the right to lay and collect taxes among other things. The House of Representatives has

the greatest privileges of either the house or the senate. The House of Representatives has the power to impeach, or bring charges against, federal officials for misconduct. If no candidate in a presidential election wins a majority in the Electoral College, the House of Representatives elects the president. The Congress also determines if a president is disabled and thus unable to continue in office. The Congress can conduct investigations into any matter that affects its powers under the Constitution. The power is divided between units of government such as the federal and state governments. Certain powers are expressed powers which are Constitutional or statutory powers expressly provided for by the Constitution or by congressional laws. Implied powers are the powers of the